What are some French words that uniquely Lebanese?

F

Frenchstudent

Hello

I am an American student of French. I am doing a project on the Lebanese French dialect. I want to know what are some French words that are specifically used in Lebanon. Maybe some slang words or some phrases that would only be heard in Lebanon. Also, how does Arabic affect the French language and French effect the Arabic language?
Please email your responses if you could because I do not use this forum often. My email is [email protected].

Bonjour

Je suis un etudiant americain de la langue francaise. Je suis en train de faire un expose sur le dialecte du francais libanais. Je veux savoir quells sont des mots qui sont typique de la Liban. Peut-etre l'argot ou des phrases specifiquement utilise au Liban. Aussi, comment est-ce que l'arabe change la langue francaise et comment est-ce que le francais change la langue arabe?
Si vous plait, m'envoyez un email avec vos reponses parce que je n'utilise pas souvent ce forum. Mon email est [email protected]

Je ne parle pas de l'arabe, sinon j'ecrirais ce message en arabe aussi.
I don't speak Arabic, otherwise I would write this message in Arabic aussi.

Merci
Thank you

• Advertisement
  • Picasso

Picasso

Legendary Member
    Orange Room Supporter
    Do you know that chambre à air has become chamberyelle?!

Reactions: DLT
    agnostic

agnostic

Legendary Member
    Hi

Except some few exceptions, Lebanese [dialect] words designating modern objects and concepts come from french. Here some examples

Frecnch ------------------------------> Lebanese ------------------------------> Arabic (Arabic is the language to which the Lebanese dialect is the closest)